SAID is a grassroots organization that was founded in 1990 by George Blue Spruce Jr., DDS, MPH and five other dentists with funds from the University of Colorado Health Sciences Center.  Their original reason for organizing was to work as a group to meet the needs of American Indian dentists, dental students, and dental auxiliaries, improving both the status for American Indian/Alaska Native (AI/AN) dentists within the overall profession of dentistry and educational pathway for AI/AN students.
The primary source of support for the SAID comes from donations and yearly dues.  

The Society of American Indian Dentists holds annual meetings each summer.  These meetings are usually held in association with a dental school and American Indian Tribes located in the vicinity of the institution.

Board of Directors

  • Winifred J. Booker, D.D.S. (Piscataway) - President

  • Maximillion Jensen, D.D.S (Navajo) - Vice President

  • Jeremy John, D.M.D. (Northern Paiute) - Secretary

  • Dave L. Smith, D.D.S. (Oneida) - Treasurer and Past President

  • George Blue Spruce, Jr., D.D.S., M.P.H., Pueblo (Laguna/Ohkay-Owingeh) - President Emeritus and Founder

  • Darlene A. Sorrell, D.M.D. (Navajo) - Immediate Past President

  • Nancy Reifel, D.D.S., M.P.H. (Sioux, Rosebud)

  • Jerry Snell, D.D.S. (Cherokee)

  • Sandra Wilson, D.D.S. (Northern Cheyenne)

  • Jessica Bremerman, D.D.S. (Yakama Nation)

  • Felicia Fontenot, D.D.S (Mescalero Apache)